UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

PACE About

HPS  Engagement


HPS Engagement is a catalyst for measurable social impact. 

We support community engagement activities like nonprofit professional development, service learning and volunteerism, community engaged research, social entrepreneurship and public/private partnerships. 

HPS’ goal is to create mutually beneficial partnerships that ultimately strengthen our communities by helping students practice what they are learning in the classroom in an applied, community settings.

Strengthen communities through teaching, research, and service. 


Courtney Banatoski

Innovation & Strategic Partnerships

Coordinator for Experiential Learning

Working Groups
Engaged Scholarship Faculty Committee

Kamakshi Gopal, Ph.D., 

Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology

Gary Webb, Ph.D.,  
Emergency Management in Disaster Science

Chad R. Trulson, Ph. D., 
Criminal Justice


Chandra Carey, Ph.D., CRC, 
Disability & Addition Rehabilitation


Rick Smith, Ph.D., 
Behavior Analysis 

Cecilia Thomas, Ph.D., LMSW-AP, 
Social Work

Experiential Learning Faculty Committee 

Stacy Nunnelee, MA, CCC-SLP
Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology 

Brenda Sweeten, MSSW, LCSW

Social Work  

Brandi Levingston, Ph.D., CRC 

Disability & Addiction Rehabilitation

Ronald Schumann, Ph.D.

Emergency Management & Disaster Science

2017 Volunteerism Advisory Group

Courtney Martin
Community Relations Specialist
Denton Independent School District 

Alonzo Peterson
Executive Director
Giving Hope, Inc. 

Kathy Glasschroeder
Denton Main Street Association 

Pat Smith
Executive Director
Serve Denton 

Olumide Aje
Site Coordinator, Calhoun Middle School
Communities In Schools of North Texas 

Alicia Froidl
Community Relations Coordinator
Denton County Friends of the Family 

Debbie Garrett
Assistant Vice President for Development
Cumberland Presbyterian Children’s Home

Rachel Weaver
Denton Community Market 

Terry Foor
Resource Development Staff, Donor Stewardship
United Way of Denton County

John Montoya
Community Impact Director
United Way of Denton County

Janet Laminack
Agrilife Advisor
Texas Master Naturalists Elm Fork Chapter 

Amanda Guerrero
Salvation Army Denton 

Sherri Gideon
Executive Director
CASA of Denton County