Becky Knight, Ph.D., PHR


I have a Bachelor's of Business Administration Degree in Management and Marketing from Baylor University that I received a very long time ago. I also have a Master’s
Degree in Long Term Care and Senior Housing Administration from UNT. After my Masters, I then chose to continue in grad school and pursue my Doctorate Degree in Gerontology also from UNT. This allows me to now have a broader perspective in older adult healthcare issues, policy and practice. I began teaching in 2011 as an adjunct for UNT and have really enjoyed sharing my past work experiences in the healthcare field with undergraduate and graduate students. Currently, I teach both online courses and in the classroom at the Undergraduate and Graduate levels. I enjoy learning new program platforms and process so I have completed certification in Course Building through Quality Matters National Institute and have created or re-created many of our undergraduate and graduate courses. Other teaching certifications here at UNT include Course Design Institute, Teaching Resources Excellence, Core Curriculum Review and Signature Assignment Institute. I am also engaged on boards in our professional organization, Gerontological Society of America (GSA) as well as other regional, community and departmental service responsibilities.

Before my academic career, I was “out in the real world” working in several different aspects of rehabilitation and health care over the last 29 years. I began in teaching hospitals, then to managing physician offices, working Long-Term Care, and then to owning my own rehabilitation clinic for 17 of those years. Those years built my library of experiential learning that I now share with my students.

Research Interests: 

Commodification of the Aging Population, Healthcare Administration Policy and Practice, Wellness Education for the Older Population, Disaster Prevention and Education for Senior Adults, Health Department Research and Program Structure, Health Professional Practice to Theory Initiative, Pedagogy, Andragogy and Geragogy Creation and Engagement.

Other Information: 
My husband and I live right here in sunny Denton, Texas. We have eight children that include two sons-in-law, two sons, a daughter-in-law and three daughters. Our children range from age 33 to 23, so we love young adults. We also have two granddaughters and two grandsons and we enjoy life with them all. My husband and I are huge outdoor people and when we get away you can find us hiking a mountain, under a waterfall, or fishing somewhere very remote. We are also trying to visit every major national park we can as well as every state.
I love to skydive, zipline, snorkel, swim, hike, bike, shoot and fish. My biggest fish so far was caught off the coast of Kodiak Island, Alaska. I hooked and pulled in by myself a 134 pound Halibut in the summer of 2018. And I have the pictures to prove it! My next adventure is to learn how to go "noodling" for catfish.
Chilton 218H