ASLP Faculty and Staff

The Department of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology strives to provide the finest professional education in both speech-language pathology and audiology while maintaining an excellent Arts and Sciences pre-professional undergraduate degree.

The Center offers state-of-the-art diagnosis and treatment of speech, language, and hearing disorders.

 aslp.unt.edu
 speechandhearing@unt.edu
 940.565.2481
 UNT Speech & Hearing Bldg

Centers and Clinics

 UNT Speech & Hearing Center
 aslp@unt.edu
 940.565.2262
 907 W.Sycamore St. Denton, TX

Kamakshi Gopal, Ph.D., CCC-A

Professor and Chair

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Objective measures of tinnitus, prevention of music-induced hearing loss

  Kamakshi.Gopal@unt.edu
 940-565-2481
  SPHC 261
  Faculty Profile

Katherine Alsop, Au.D., CCC-A, AIB-VRC

Audiologist and Clinical Educator

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Adult diagnostics, balance disorders assessment and treatment, tinnitus evaluation and rehabilitation, electrophysiological testing, adult hearing aids

  katherine.alsop@unt.edu
 940-369-7413
  SPHC 152

Katsura Aoyama, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Speech-Language Pathology

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Language acquisition, psycholinguistics

  Katsura.Aoyama@unt.edu
 940-369-7430
  SPHC 265
  Faculty Profile

Alyssa (Nikki) Fahrenthold, M.S., CCC-SLP

Clinical Educator

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Early childhood language; pediatric feeding and swallowing disorders; aphasia; traumatic brain injury; certified in VitalStim and NMES (Neuromuscular Electrical Stimulation).  

  alyssa.fahrenthold@unt.edu
 940-369-7497
  SPHC 262

Theresa Kouri, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

Principal Lecturer and Clinical Director for SLP

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

  Theresa.Kouri@unt.edu
 940-369-7339
  SPHC 219
  Faculty Profile

Amanda Labue, Au.D., CCC-A

Senior Lecturer and Clinical Educator

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Adult and pediatric diagnostics; Adult amplification; Aural rehabilitation; Assistive technology

  Amanda.Labue@unt.edu
 940-369-7415
  SPHC 268
  Faculty Profile
Boji Lam, Ph.D. Image

Boji Lam, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Effect of bilingualism and motivation on language behaviors, learning, and therapeutic outcomes in both children and adults, emotion and vocabulary learning

  Boji@unt.edu
 940-565-2653
  SPHC 267

Lauren Mathews, M.S., CCC-SLP

Clinical Associate Professor

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Assessment and intervention of individuals with developmental communication disorders; Autism Spectrum Disorder, specifically individuals who are non-verbal, with Theory of Mind difficulties, auditory processing difficulties and students in higher education

  Lauren.Mathews@unt.edu
 940-369-7456
  SPHC 264
  Faculty Profile

Sharon Miller, Ph.D., CCC-A

Assistant Professor

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Identification of neural biomarkers underlying successful speech perception outcomes in persons with hearing loss; Neural inhibition and speech-in-noise perception; Brain plasticity related to hearing aid and cochlear implant use

  Sharon.Miller@unt.edu
 940-369-7385
  SPHC 214
  Faculty Profile

Stacy Nunnelee, M.A., CCC-SLP

Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Director

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Adult neurogenics; fluency disorders/stuttering; adults with high functioning autism; pragmatic language; pedagogy

  Stacy.Nunnelee@unt.edu
 940-369-8226
  SPHC 269
  Faculty Profile

Gloria Streit Olness, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

Associate Professor

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Research and advocacy for and with people whose lives have been impacted by aphasia; the enhancement of everyday communicative functionality and life engagement, of people with aphasia and their co-survivors

  Gloria.Olness@unt.edu
 940-369-7455
  SPHC 217
  Faculty Profile

Shannon Presley, M.S., CCC-SLP

Senior Lecturer and Clinical Educator

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Adult neurogenic communication disorders resulting from an acquired brain injury

  Shannon.Presley@unt.edu
 940-369-7298
  SPHC 237
  Faculty Profile

Denise Romine, Au.D., CCC-A

Audiologist and Clinical Educator

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Adult and pediatric diagnostics, adult and pediatric hearing aids, aural rehabilitation, auditory processing, cochlear implants, assistive technology 

 

  Maria.Romine@unt.edu
 940-369-7636
  SPHC 152
  Faculty Profile
Erin C. Schafer, Ph.D., CCC-A

Erin C. Schafer, Ph.D., CCC-A

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Audiology

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

Auditory processing, hearing aids, cochlear implants, remote microphone technology, autism, hearing loss

  Erin.Schafer@unt.edu
 940-369-7433
  SPHC 266
  Faculty Profile

Shelby Simmons

Clinic Support Associate

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

  shelby.simmons@unt.edu
 940-369-8761
  SPHC 190

Cassie Thomas, Au.D., FAAA

Senior Lecturer, Clinical Director for Audiology

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

  Cassie.Thomas@unt.edu
 940-565-2811
  SPHC 218
  Faculty Profile

Raedeen Wingate, M.S., CCC-SLP

Lecturer

Audiology & Speech Language Pathology

Read More

  Raedeen.Wingate@unt.edu
 940-369-7414
  SPHC 269
  Faculty Profile