UNT well-represented at Texas Speech-Language-Hearing Association (TSHA) convention

Faculty and students presented research, took part in events and won awards at the annual state convention and exhibition, one of the largest of its kind in the nation.

DENTON (UNT), Texas – Many faculty and students from the University of North Texas College of Health and Public Service Department of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology headed to Fort Worth to attend the Texas Speech-Language-Hearing Association (TSHA) annual convention Feb. 24-26.

While attending, UNT students and faculty received a variety of prestigious awards. In the Praxis Bowl, a competition between more than a dozen speech-language pathology (SLP) programs in Texas, UNT placed third. The team was made up of students Celinda Acosta, Sidney Moore, Janessa Guzman and Amber Moon, and Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Director Stacy Nunnelee coordinated. At the awards breakfast on Feb. 25, Dr. Kat Aoyama, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, presented the scholarship awards as the Scholarship Awards Chair. Three UNT students received scholarships – Leticia Garcia, Celinda Acosta and Lauren Davis. Alumna Christine Anderson received a service award at the event. UNT also sponsored a Silver table at the awards breakfast, and more than 10 students and faculty members attended the event.

“This was our first in-person convention since March 2020, and it was wonderful to see students, faculty and alumni face-to-face,” Dr. Aoyama said.

The department’s faculty and students presented at the conference. Ms. Nunnelee and Principal Lecturer Lauren Mathews presented “Social Skills Supports for Neurodivergent College Students,” and graduate student Alden Gartrell presented “Beginning or Transitioning into a Career as a Medical SLP.”

Apart from the presentations, UNT took part in “Spirit Day” with Ms. Nunnelee and Dr. Aoyama hosting a recruiting table, and students Laine Humphries, Connie Ho and Madison Waddill taking part in the event. Dr. Theresa Kouri, Principal Lecturer and Clinical Director for SLP who is chairing the University Issues Committee, held an all-directors meeting, which is a committee of all program directors and clinic directors of the SLP programs in Texas. Many more undergraduate and graduate students attended and volunteered at the convention making sure UNT was very well-represented at this state convention.