Advisors help navigate your academic career

We’ll guide you from start to finish, helping you explore careers, choose your major, select courses, meet university requirements, prepare for graduation and more to ensure you have a meaningful undergraduate experience at UNT.

We serve all HPS undergraduate majors


Richard Mabry
Assistant Dean, Student Success
Director, Academic Advising and Student Services
940-565-2577
Richard.Mabry@unt.edu
Find our office
 940-565-4115
 Chilton Hall, Suite 112
  410 S. Avenue C
  Denton, TX 76201

Graduate students are advised by specific HPS faculty. Check with your department for more information.


 

Graduation

 

Apply for graduation
The semester prior to your graduation, meet with your Academic Advisor to complete a graduation check and confirm your remaining courses and grades needed to meet graduation requirements.

Find application instructions and important dates posted by the Graduation division of the Registrar’s Office. Learn about commencement ceremonies at commencement.unt.edu.  

Frequently Asked Questions

 

Who is my advisor?



Richard Mabry, M.S.
Assistant Dean, Student Success
  Rmabry@unt.edu
 940-565-4115 (Main)
  Chilton 112


  • Criminal Justice (Last Name A-F)
  • HPS Undeclared Major
  • Rehabilitation Studies (Last Name S-Z)

Amanda DeVaney
Academic Counselor
  Amanda.Devaney@unt.edu
 940-565-4115 (main)
  Chilton 112

Rachel Rachel
  • Behavior Analysis (Last Name I-Z)
  • Emergency Administration and Disaster Planning
  • Nonprofit Leadership Studies
  • Urban Policy and Planning

Rachel Rachel
Academic Advisor
  Rachel.Rachel@unt.edu
 940-369-5791
  Chilton 112


  • Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology

Rod Streng, Ph.D.
Academic Advisor
  Rod.Streng@unt.edu
 940-565-4115 (main)
  Chilton 112


  • Rehabilitation Studies (Last Name A-R)
  • Public Health

Azzama Alia
Academic Counselor
  azzama.alia@unt.edu
 940-565-4115
  Chilton 112


  • Behavior Analysis (Last Name A-H)
  • Social Work

Parker Ellis, M.Ed
Academic Advisor
  parker.ellis@unt.edu
 940-565-4115
  Chilton 112



Katie Hebert
Office Support Associate
  Katie.Hebert@unt.edu
 940-565-4115
  Chilton 112


  • Criminal Justice (Last Name G-O)

Brisa Finegan
Academic Counselor
  brisa.finegan@unt.edu
 940-565-4115
  Chilton 112


  • Criminal Justice (Last Name P-Z)

Xavier Floyd
Academic Advisor
  xavier.floyd@unt.edu
 940-369-8951
  Chilton 112F

HPS Undergraduate Advising

We’ll guide you from start to finish, helping you explore careers, choose your major, select courses, meet university requirements, prepare for graduation and more to ensure you have a meaningful undergraduate experience at UNT.

 hpsadvisingservices@unt.edu
 940-565-4115
 940.565.2352
 Chilton Hall, Suite 112
  410 S. Avenue C
  Denton, TX 76201